Cover The electronic proceedings of the workshop are available from the ACM Digital Library. Click on the image on the left or on the ACM paper page links below.

We also include below the links to the slides for each presentation from the workshop.

Friday, June 29, 2012




Keynote: Timothy Roscoe

Supercomputing Operating Systems: A Naive View from Over the Fence
Abstract, Bio, Slides (2.1 MB)

Timothy Roscoe
Coffee Break

I/O Session (chair: Ron Brightwell)

I/O Threads to Reduce Checkpoint Blocking for an Electromagnetics Solver on Blue Gene/P and Cray XK6
Jing Fu, Misun Min, Robert Latham and Christopher D. Carothers
Slides (2.6 MB), ACM paper page

A File I/O System for Many-Core Based Clusters
Yuki Matsuo, Taku Shimosawa and Yutaka Ishikawa
Slides (551 KB), ACM paper page

Integrated In-System Storage Architecture for High Performance Computing
Dries Kimpe, Kathryn Mohror, Adam Moody, Brian Van Essen, Maya Gokhale, Rob Ross and Bronis R. de Supinski
Slides (2.5 MB), ACM paper page

The RAMDISK Storage Accelerator—A Method of Accelerating I/O Performance On HPC Systems Using RAMDISKs
Tim Wickberg and Christopher Carothers
Slides (602 KB), ACM paper page

Jing Fu Yuki Matsuo Tim Wickberg


OS Scalability and Manycore Session (chair: Kamil Iskra)

Optimizing Latency and Throughput for Spawning Processes on Massively Multicore Processors
Abhishek Kulkarni, Michael Lang, Latchesar Ionkov and Andrew Lumsdaine
Best Paper Award
Slides (1.3 MB), ACM paper page

Better than Native: Using Virtualization to Improve Compute Node Performance
Brian Kocoloski and John Lange
Slides (554 KB), ACM paper page

A Design of Hybrid Operating System for a Parallel Computer with Multi-Core and Many-Core Processors
Mikiko Sato, Go Fukazawa, Kiyohiko Nagamine, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Mitaro Namiki, Kazumi Yoshinaga, Yuichi Tsujita, Atsushi Hori and Yutaka Ishikawa
Slides (1.6 MB), ACM paper page

Stepping Towards Noiseless Linux Environment
Hakan Akkan, Michael Lang and Lorie M. Liebrock
Slides (808 KB), ACM paper page

Abhishek Kulkarni Brian Kocoloski Mikiko Sato


Memory Issues Session (chair: Yutaka Ishikawa)

Node-Based Memory Management for Scalable NUMA Architectures
Stefan Lankes, Thomas Roehl, Christian Terboven and Thomas Bemmerl
Slides (481 KB), ACM paper page

Evaluating Operating System Vulnerability to Memory Errors
Kurt B. Ferreira, Kevin Pedretti, Patrick G. Bridges, Ron Brightwell, David Fiala and Frank Mueller
Slides (1.3 MB), ACM paper page

Stefan Lankes Ron Brightwell


Presentation of the Best Paper Award

Abhishek Kulkarni, Kamil Iskra


Closing Remarks